29
Mar
05

Terry Schiavo (Yes, We All Have to Say Something About Her, Don’t We?)

Since Terry Schiavo is so much in the news and all over the Internet, you are probably wondering what my opinion is of the matter. Well, if this woman is truly capable of recovery and if pulling the plug was against her wishes, it would be murder to deny her life support, wouldn’t it? The problem is that I don’t know if she is a vegetable or not, and I don’t know if she would want to be left with the feeding tube. I feel the need to leave that to the court and the experts. Some people are not satisfied with that, however. Indeed, there are a lot of opinions coming from both the Left and the Right on this issue, but given their history with handing the truth, I don’t feel so confident that I’ll stand to be informed by either side. Since I don’t pretend to have the all facts, I’ve prayed about it and left the judgment up to God. I think He is a better judge of such things than I or anyone else. Anyway, if you really want me to throw you a piece of mutton, then here. Take it for what it’s worth.

Now for one thing I do know. The Republicans are a disgrace. What happened to their cries of not allowing the federal government to interfere with those powers delegated to the states? And if they think Ms. Schiavo is such a tragedy, why aren’t they wailing as loudly for the innocent Iraqis that have suffered as a result of their ridiculous war? Their attitude reminds me of Stalin. He said something about one death being a tragedy and many deaths being a statistic. Oh, I know what you are going to say: “That’s different! I mourn the deaths of innocent Iraqis, but in the long run the war is for a good cause and it will end the suffering of those people!” Yep, and Michael Shiavo could say something similiar about his wife.

